Cliff Walks

IMG_8553-EmbedAdobeRGB

The Cliffs of Moher: Distant view of O’Brien’s Tower and the Branaunnmore sea stack.

 

You can’t come to western Ireland without spending time at the Cliffs of Moher.  This was THE place I wanted to see on my first trip to Ireland, and it still remains one of my favorite places in the world.  So, when I’d been here 10 days, and still hadn’t made it up to the cliffs I was feeling a bit distressed.  Luckily, on Tuesday afternoon, the fates aligned and I had a clear and sunny afternoon off.  Mary Jo was kind enough to drop me off at the cliffs, and I spent several hours walking the trails and enjoying the majestic views.  Along with the Amalfi Coast, this is my favorite coastline in the world.  It’s staggering.

Spring flowers blooming along the cliffs with Branaunnmore in the background.

Spring flowers blooming along the cliffs with Branaunnmore in the background.

One of the amazing things about the cliffs is that you can literally walk right up to the edge.  There are various trails to use–some set back further from ledge and others that go right along it, so even those that are scared of heights can still enjoy the views but feel comfortable.  I used the safe trails until I got to the more interesting ones!

Fellow travelers watching one of nature's great free shows just north of O'Brien's Tower.

Fellow travelers watching one of nature’s great free shows just north of O’Brien’s Tower.

After a an hour or so of going crazy with my camera, I took a break and found a nice little grassy area on the edge of the cliff to sit and enjoy the scenery, 390 feet above the Atlantic Ocean.  Laying on my stomach, and leaning over the edge (sorry, no pictures of this as I didn’t want to take any risks with my camera) I watched the seagulls play on the wind currents and watched the waves pounding the rocks below, feeling the spray from the sea and the wind in my face.  It’s one of those moments you wish could last forever.

IMG_8684-A

Adventuresome travelers enjoying the cliff walks.

You can actually hike all along the cliffs either independently or part of a tour.  From Doolin it’s about an 10 km walk, that can be done independently or as part of a tour.  And if you aren’t to keen on heights, there is a 1 hour sightseeing cruise that leaves from Doolin several times a day during the summer (weather permitting).  I actually went to do this yesterday but the water was too choppy so they weren’t running.  However, one of the benefits of being here for several weeks is that I can wait it out for a good day!  Stay tuned for pictures and a report on that adventure.

World Traveler Extraordinaire

World Traveler Extraordinaire

IMG_8736-A

Early Evening, Cliffs of Moher

 

 

2 responses to “Cliff Walks

