Life…or Something Like It

Sabrina.  Under the Tuscan Sun.  A Good Year.  Out of Africa.  Midnight in Paris.  The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.  The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

LIES!!!  Beautiful, perfect, visually stunning and romantic LIES.

Because Hollywood has devised such media to deceive and seduce me into believing in the simplicity and ease of moving to a foreign country.  They don’t mention work visas or passports or bank account balances or finding a place to live or a way to support yourself.

And I understand why, what’s appealing about that?  Who’d pay money to watch people spend hours online filling out forms and sending off inquiries only to be met with radio silence?  Or running to Costco in a Captain America t-shirt and sweats at 8:00 at night to get a passport photo because you realized yours expired in December?

Such has been my life for the last 3 weeks.  I decided almost a year ago to quit my job that had been making me a miserable, ulcer-prone mess for two years (the first three were actually ok).  After months of temporary and part time jobs, dozens of resumes and applications, job interviews that ended with a polite “thank you, but we’re going with someone else,” I decided to try a new direction.  Unfortunately, I’ve discovered that this new direction isn’t any easier than the other.  It still involves a heck of a lot of work, uncertainty, and frustration.

But with my being homeless in a month,  I’m at least attempting the whole “travel/live abroad” dream that I’ve had since I was about 14.  I have no idea if it will work out or not, and,  for someone who almost always reads the end of the book about 1/3 of the way through because she can’t stand the suspense, it’s nerve wracking in the extreme.  But, I’ve had a paraphrased quote by Thoreau for years: “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.”  When in doubt, follow the inspirational quotes hanging on your wall!

2 responses to “Life…or Something Like It

  • Erin

    Maybe if you claim to be a European trapped in an American’s body they’ll give you a work visa! 😉 But in all seriousness, I think what you’re doing (or at least attempting to do) is awesome. So many people want to live and work abroad, but very few will ever actually do it. You’re living the dream, baby!

    Like

