(At Long Last) Impressions: Paris

Happy New Year, Blog Readers!  I hope that 2012 is a wonderful year for all of you.

I realize this blog post is long overdue.  I got back from my trip the 1st of December and was planning on posting the first of my Parisian adventures a few weeks ago, but between work responsibilities, holiday festivities, traveling, and family weddings something had to give, and blogging didn’t make the cut.

But, I’m back home now, my Christmas decorations are put away, the newlyweds are on their honeymoon, and I’m dying to share some of my photos of my first trip to Paris!

Let me start by saying every good cliche you’ve ever heard about Paris is 100% accurate.  The light is soft, romantic, and constantly changing.  The food is mouth-wateringly good.  The history and charm is rich and full.  The architecture, art, and grandeur was literally breathtaking.  And to top it all off, I awoke every morning to the bells of Notre Dame and heard an accordionist play La Vie En Rose while walking the bridges of Paris on a Sunday afternoon.

I’ll have more in-depth anecdotes later on, but for now I give you just a few impressions of the City of Light.

Musician playing along the Seine

I will dedicate a whole blog post about the music of Paris.  So many skilled musicians all over the city, from the metro stations to the churches and along the river.  On one memorable night we were serenaded by a clarinet as we dined at a street cafe near St. Germain des Prés.

Dawn on the Ile de la Citie

I had to get up early to capture this shot.  It was totally worth it.  After I shot pictures for about an hour I sat near the river and watched as Paris woke up around me.

Notre Dame

This view of Notre Dame was a two minute walk from our hotel on the left bank.  Seeing it every day just added to the fairy tale of being in Paris.  I blended the image with an aged paper to give it a vintage feel.

Approaching Twilight: Eiffel Tower and Pont Alexander III

One of my favorite bridges in Paris was the Pont Alexander III.  I fell in love with it when I first saw Julia Ormond (with her apple) write in her journal here in the Paris montage of Sabrina.  

That’s all for now!  But now that the new year is upon us, I hope to be able to start making regular updates now!  May you all be blessed with a wonderful and exciting new year!

12 responses to “(At Long Last) Impressions: Paris

